Song of the Day #27: What I Need

I had another song written and ready to post, but as I sat down to post it, I found myself in front of the TV.

We’re all really big fans of the Duggar Family (“19 Kids and Counting”). You may have heard that back in December, Michelle miscarried their 20th child. A very heartbreaking development! If you’ve ever lost a child in the womb, you know exactly how devastating a loss this is. Tonight’s episode, the season finale, showed how the family dealt with it.

As I was sitting there, emotions and feelings that I thought I had forgotten about came flooding back to me as I remembered when we went through a very similar loss not too many years ago. I had to leave the room.

It is in trying times like these that we should remember that God knows exactly how we feel. He knows what it’s like to lose a child. But it’s through that loss that we have life. It was in remembering that God is always faithful that we were able to weather the storm of our loss.

Suddenly I felt the need to write him a song of thanks.

What I Need
 
You have done the unthinkable:
you gave up your life for me
You didn’t have to do it
but you loved me anyway
What can I do for you?
 
Chorus: You give me what I need
I know I can depend on you
You are everything I need
You’re the reason I do what I do
 
I would think it’s impossible
if I hadn’t seen it myself
You gave me far more
than I deserve.
What can I do for you?
 
Chorus
 


God is always faithful, and he’s always there… even when we think he’s not.

I’ll share that other song tomorrow. As always, feel free to share these lyrics with anybody and everybody (just click the “share” button… it’s THAT easy!).

See you tomorrow!

Gallery | This entry was posted in art, creative process, family, Life in General, music, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

